Your Councillors


Your Councillors

If you want to discuss any issues with your local Councillor, you can -

* attend your Councillors’ advice surgeries
* meet your Councillors through Area Committees, which make decisions relevant to each of Hull’s seven areas
* contact your local Councillor by email or telephone  

Councillors are democratically accountable to residents of the city and their ward. The overriding duty of Councillors is to the whole community, but they have a special duty to their constituents, including those who did not vote for them.

Approximately a third of the Council is elected every year over a period of three years (there are no elections every fourth year). The next elections are in 2018.

In wards where there are only two Councillors, there will be elections in two out of four years.

A Councillor’s term of office is usually four years before the seat is subject to elections again.

Hull is divided into 23 wards represented by 59 ward Councillors and currently has a Labour controlled Council, and there are:

38 Labour Councillors

17 Liberal Democrat Councillors

2 Conservative & Unionist Councillors

2 Independent Councillor

You can find information on Members Allowances

Councillor Mail Merge