Ward Boundary Changes


Ward Boundary Changes


The Local Government Boundary Commission (LGBC) conducted a review of Hull to recommend new ward boundaries. This was to make sure each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters, taking into account the interests and identities of local communities. 

As part of the review, LGBC carried out three rounds of public consultation, before producing final recommendations.

LGBC recommended that Hull should - 

be represented by 57 councillors, two less that there are now
have 21 wards, two less that there are now 

Parliament approved the recommendations and they became law on Wednesday 13 December 2017, through the Kingston upon Hull (Electoral changes) Order 2017. 

Visit the Legislation GOV.UK website to find out more

Due to theses changes, the local elections on Thursday 3 May are for all wards and all council seats based on the new wards. 

After this year, local elections in Hull go back to a pattern of electing by thirds for three consecutive years, followed by a fallow year. 

As changes have been made to ward boundaries, you may find that your ward and your polling station have changed. 

All those eligible to vote in the local elections in May are to be sent a poll card at the end of March. The poll card informs you of your ward and if you are not a postal voter, provide details of your polling station. 

You can find information about the ward boundary review and access view a map showing the changes on the LGBC website.

Visit the Local Government Boundary Commission website

New wards from May 2018

Ward Number of Councillors
Avenue 3
Beverley and Newland 3
Boothferry 3
Bricknell 2
Central 2
Derringham 3
Drypool 3
 Holderness 3
Ings 2
Kingswood 2
Longhill and Bilton Grange 3
Marfleet 3
Newington and Gypsyville 3
North Carr 3
Orchard Park 3
Pickering 2
Southcoates 3
St Andrews and Docklands 3
Sutton 3
University 2
West Carr 3